Clearshot vs Hypercharge
Two home-charging reward programs for Ontario, side by side. Both pay you for charging your EV at home, funded through Canada's Clean Fuel Regulations credits. Here is how they differ on what they pay, what they ask of you and how they pay out, from each program's own website, checked daily.
The short answer
- At 300 kWh a month, Hypercharge pays more: about $396 a year against $108, once past any starting tier.
- Over five years, after any charger you would buy from the program and any deposit still held: Clearshot $540, Hypercharge $1,860.
- What you need. Clearshot supplies the charger against a $300 refundable deposit. Hypercharge supplies the charger against a $299 refundable deposit.
- Payout. Clearshot: payout not documented. Hypercharge: payout not documented.
- Track record. Clearshot: listed in the community thread without first-hand reports. Hypercharge: has not paid out yet.
- Where. Clearshot is available only in Ontario. Hypercharge is available across Canada.
Can you join both? Not with the same charger, as a rule: each kWh earns a credit only once, and most programs require the charger to be registered with them alone. More in the FAQ.
Side by side
| Clearshot Labs Free Charger Program payout unverifiedClearshot Labs | Hypercharge Home Club payout unverifiedHypercharge Networks | |
|---|---|---|
| Your estimate at 300 kWh/mo | $108per year | $396per yearyear 1: $276best of these |
| Advertised rate | 3¢ | 3 → 11¢ |
| Rate ladder | Flat rate | 3¢ → 11¢ after 1,500 kWh |
| Promotion | None | None |
| Net per kWh | pay 0.9¢/kWh net ? | earn 7.1¢/kWh net ? |
| Where | Ontario | All of Canada |
| Charger | Free charger (deposit)Kasier EVC45 (32/40/48A) supplied by Clearshot; UNR1 40A coming | Free charger (deposit)Hypercharge Home Level 2 charger; plug-in NEMA 14-50 (9.6 kW) or hardwired (11.5 kW); J1772 or NACS; 25 ft cable; one per household |
| Upfront | $300 refundable deposit$300 deposit, refunded after 1,500 kWh | $30 shipping + $299 refundable deposit$299 deposit, refunded after 1,500 kWh |
| Payout | Payout not documentedNot stated | Payout not documentedNot stated |
| Fees & commitment | Commitment: Charge at least 1,500 kWh in the first year to earn the deposit back | None stated |
| Track record | unverifiedListed in the community thread without first-hand reports | newerHas not paid out yet |
| Rate source | Verified 2026-09-25 | Verified 2026-09-25 |
| Rate history | Unchanged since tracked | Unchanged since tracked |
| Links | Full detailsProgram site ↗ | Full detailsProgram site ↗ |
What each pays by how much you charge
A full year at each monthly amount, once past any starting tier, using the same model as the program cards.
| Home charging | Clearshot | Hypercharge |
|---|---|---|
| 150 kWh/mo | $54/yr | $198/yr |
| 300 kWh/mo | $108/yr | $396/yr |
| 600 kWh/mo | $216/yr | $792/yr |
| 1,000 kWh/mo | $360/yr | $1,320/yr |
Compare with your own province and kWh →
Full details
Clearshot Labs Free Charger Program · Hypercharge Home Club
More comparisons
Clearshot vs DashSharing · Clearshot vs Grizzl-E Club · Clearshot vs SWTCH · DashSharing vs Hypercharge · EcoCharge vs Hypercharge · Grizzl-E Club vs Hypercharge · HoneyBadger vs Hypercharge · Hypercharge vs SWTCH