EcoCharge vs Hypercharge
Two home-charging reward programs for British Columbia, side by side. Both pay you for charging your EV at home, funded through Canada's Clean Fuel Regulations credits. Here is how they differ on what they pay, what they ask of you and how they pay out, from each program's own website, checked daily.
The short answer
- At 300 kWh a month, Hypercharge pays more: about $396 a year against $360, once past any starting tier.
- Over five years, after any charger you would buy from the program and any deposit still held: EcoCharge $1,650, Hypercharge $1,860.
- What you need. EcoCharge supplies the charger against a $199 refundable deposit. Hypercharge supplies the charger against a $299 refundable deposit.
- Payout. EcoCharge: paid at a balance threshold, minimum $100. Hypercharge: payout not documented.
- Where. EcoCharge is available only in British Columbia. Hypercharge is available across Canada.
Can you join both? Not with the same charger, as a rule: each kWh earns a credit only once, and most programs require the charger to be registered with them alone. More in the FAQ.
Side by side
| EcoCharge RewardsEcoCharge Energy Network Inc. | Hypercharge Home Club payout unverifiedHypercharge Networks | |
|---|---|---|
| Your estimate at 300 kWh/mo | $360per yearyear 1: $210 | $396per yearyear 1: $276best of these |
| Advertised rate | 10¢ | 3 → 11¢ |
| Rate ladder | 0¢ → 10¢ after 1,500 kWh | 3¢ → 11¢ after 1,500 kWh |
| Promotion | None | None |
| Net per kWh | earn 2.3¢/kWh net ? | earn 3.3¢/kWh net ? |
| Where | British Columbia | All of Canada |
| Charger | Free charger (deposit)EcoCharge Level 2 smart charger (240V, up to 40A, J1772), supplied free; single-family homes with a private garage, carport or driveway | Free charger (deposit)Hypercharge Home Level 2 charger; plug-in NEMA 14-50 (9.6 kW) or hardwired (11.5 kW); J1772 or NACS; 25 ft cable; one per household |
| Upfront | $199 refundable deposit; a licensed electrician installs a 240V circuit at your cost if you do not have one$199 deposit, refunded after 1,500 kWh | $30 shipping + $299 refundable deposit$299 deposit, refunded after 1,500 kWh |
| Payout | Paid at a balance thresholdNot stated · minimum $100 | Payout not documentedNot stated |
| Fees & commitment | Membership: None ("no monthly fee, no membership") | None stated |
| Track record | newerHas not paid out yet | newerHas not paid out yet |
| Rate source | On program page | Verified 2026-09-25 |
| Rate history | Unchanged since tracked | Unchanged since tracked |
| Links | Full detailsProgram site ↗ | Full detailsProgram site ↗ |
What each pays by how much you charge
A full year at each monthly amount, once past any starting tier, using the same model as the program cards.
| Home charging | EcoCharge | Hypercharge |
|---|---|---|
| 150 kWh/mo | $180/yr | $198/yr |
| 300 kWh/mo | $360/yr | $396/yr |
| 600 kWh/mo | $720/yr | $792/yr |
| 1,000 kWh/mo | $1,200/yr | $1,320/yr |
Compare with your own province and kWh →
Full details
EcoCharge Rewards · Hypercharge Home Club
More comparisons
EcoCharge vs Grizzl-E Club · EcoCharge vs HoneyBadger · EcoCharge vs SWTCH · Clearshot vs Hypercharge · DashSharing vs Hypercharge · Grizzl-E Club vs Hypercharge · HoneyBadger vs Hypercharge · Hypercharge vs SWTCH