Electric Avenue vs metroEV
Two home-charging reward programs, side by side. Both pay you for charging your EV at home, funded through Canada's Clean Fuel Regulations credits. Here is how they differ on what they pay, what they ask of you and how they pay out, from each program's own website, checked daily.
The short answer
- At 300 kWh a month, Electric Avenue pays more: about $468 a year against $360, once past any starting tier.
- Over five years, after any charger you would buy from the program and any deposit still held: Electric Avenue $2,340, metroEV $1,800.
- What you need. Electric Avenue works with an OCPP smart charger you already own. metroEV needs a specific charger: Level 2 charger compatible with the metroEV platform, internet-connected.
- Payout. Electric Avenue: payout not documented. metroEV: paid annually, minimum $100 per year.
- Track record. Electric Avenue: has not paid out yet. metroEV: listed in the community thread without first-hand reports.
Can you join both? Not with the same charger, as a rule: each kWh earns a credit only once, and most programs require the charger to be registered with them alone. More in the FAQ.
Side by side
| Electric Avenue Homeowner Rebate payout unverifiedElectric Avenue Manufacturing Inc. | metroEV RewardsmetroEV | |
|---|---|---|
| Your estimate at 300 kWh/mo | $468per yearbest of these | $360per year |
| Advertised rate | 13¢ | 10¢ |
| Rate ladder | Flat rate | Flat rate |
| Promotion | None | None |
| Where | All of Canada | All of Canada |
| Charger | Bring an OCPP chargerAn Electric Avenue residential charger, or a compatible third-party OCPP charger connected to Electric Avenue's charging-station management system | Buy their chargerLevel 2 charger compatible with the metroEV platform, internet-connected |
| Upfront | None if you already own a compatible charger | Not stated |
| Payout | Payout not documentedNot stated | Paid annuallyDirect deposit · minimum $100 per year |
| Fees & commitment | Membership: None stated | None stated |
| Track record | newerHas not paid out yet | unverifiedListed in the community thread without first-hand reports |
| Rate source | Verified 2026-09-25 | Verified 2026-09-25 |
| Rate history | Unchanged since tracked | Unchanged since tracked |
| Links | Full detailsProgram site ↗ | Full detailsProgram site ↗ |
What each pays by how much you charge
A full year at each monthly amount, once past any starting tier, using the same model as the program cards.
| Home charging | Electric Avenue | metroEV |
|---|---|---|
| 150 kWh/mo | $234/yr | $180/yr |
| 300 kWh/mo | $468/yr | $360/yr |
| 600 kWh/mo | $936/yr | $720/yr |
| 1,000 kWh/mo | $1,560/yr | $1,200/yr |
Compare with your own province and kWh →
Full details
Electric Avenue Homeowner Rebate · metroEV Rewards
More comparisons
ChargeLab vs Electric Avenue · Charging Right vs Electric Avenue · Chargy vs Electric Avenue · Electric Avenue vs Iceberg EV · Electric Avenue vs Roulez Électrique · Electric Avenue vs Variablegrid Plus · ChargeLab vs metroEV · Charging Right vs metroEV · Chargy vs metroEV · Iceberg EV vs metroEV · metroEV vs Roulez Électrique · metroEV vs Variablegrid Plus